Thursday, June 20, 2024

Pete Crow-Armstrong Just Reinvented the Game of Baseball

-

Hey, as long as they allow it, keep doing it. Cubs rookie Pete Crow-Armstrong used his helmet to touch second base after drilling a ball down the right field line. Mets outfielder Starling Marte, who has a great arm, launched a great throw to second base and PCA had to get creative, sliding into the bag.

Crow-Armstrong was called safe even though it was his helmet touching the base as he was being tagged.

The Cubs will take it.

PCA has been pretty steady at the plate since he was called up for injured center fielder Cody Bellinger last week. After the RBI-double on Thursday, Crow-Armstrong is now slashing .261/.250/.478. He has two runs driven in today and now up to seven since making his debut on April 24.

Follow our new Twitter account for real-time updates and in-depth analysis of all things Chicago Cubs.

Truly incredible that PCA is coming up with fun ways to play baseball just like the guy who he was traded for in 2021, Javier Báez.

UPDATE

OK, so apparently, no, that was not legal and the umpire at second just made the wrong call. Whoops!

4 COMMENTS

Notify of
4 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dr. Melhus
May 3, 2024 1:13 pm

Well, then, every baserunner should get their base stealing gloves – regular gloves, except the index finger of the right hand is 80 feet long, filled with lightweight foam. Take a leadoff, then reach out and touch second on the pitch. Call time out once the play is over, and walk to second. Pity it’s not legal.

timgjerde56
May 3, 2024 5:56 am

The oversight of improving the bullpen with more than Neris is just unacceptable. They didn’t need to spend for the high-priced guys, but they needed to do more than expect a young guy like Adzolay to repeat his awesome performance. That’s just wishful thinking. He’ll come around, but every game we lose now is a game we’ll have to make up later. Can’t afford to keep blowing saves by hitting guys in extras to put the winning run on. That just made me want to puke.

Krisanthony
Krisanthony
May 2, 2024 5:15 pm

He reinvented how to turn a double into an out. How the umps didn’t know that was not touching the base is beyond me. Luckily it did t cost them that inning but it was a boneheaded unnecessary mistake.

BearCub30
May 2, 2024 2:29 pm

Can we get some good relievers please!!!!!!!!

Chicago SportsNEWS
Recommended for you